THE CENTRE The Centre Mission Partners Member Countries
Jorge Braga de Macedo to be new
OECD Development Centre President
Distinguished economist and former Finance Minister of Portugal Jorge Braga de Macedo is the eighth President of the OECD Development Centre. The Centre is a semi-autonomous development think tank established by the OECD in 1962. Its mandate is to encourage policy dialogue between OECD and developing economies. 
Professor Jorge de Macedo, 52, has enjoyed a varied career in universities and international organisations. He was educated in France, Portugal and the United States, where he gained a PhD from Yale University in 1979. Currently Professor of Economics at the New University of Lisbon and Director of the Lisbon Institute for Tropical Research, he is also a Research Associate at the National Bureau of Economic Research, Cambridge, Mass. and a Research Fellow, at the Centre for Economic Policy Research in London. Jorge de Macedo served as Portugalís Minister of Finance between 1991 and 1993. He was a member of the Portuguese Parliament from 1991 to 1995, Director for National Economics at the European Commission from 1988 to 1991 and Assistant Professor of Economics and International Affairs at Princeton University from 1980 to 1986. During the course of his career, he served as a consultant to a number of international organisations, including the European Bank for Reconstruction and Development, the World Bank, the United Nations and the International Monetary Fund. Jorge Braga de Macedoís research activities have recently concentrated on the analysis of transition economies, with particular emphasis on fiscal, monetary and exchange rate policies. He is also working on financial crises in emerging markets, on municipal finance and on regional policies within the European Union. 

His appointment took effect from 25 October 1999.

Jorge de Macedo succeeds the Swiss Jean Bonvin at the presidency of the Centre. Earlier Presidents included Robert Buron, André Philip and Paul-Marc Henry, all from France; the Canadian Louis Sabourin; Just Faaland from Norway; and Louis Emmerij from the Netherlands.

For further information, please contact: Colm Foy, Head of Communication, OECD Development Centre, 
94 rue Chardon-Lagache, 75016 Paris, France. Tel: +33(1).; e-mail:



Home.GIF (4269 bytes)
Last update05/11/99
Contact :